Powerless

Keeping my iPad powered up is always an issue. Rather than stop for several hours a day to plug in and charge, I rigged up a USB charging plug that runs off Ruby’s battery. The total rig cost about $12.00. The idea is I can plug in while I am driving, giving me a fully charged iPad each evening and morning. Text doesn’t use much battery power, but photographs (& mapping) eat it up. All ideal systems work ideally during the conception phase. You can quote me.

20130601-163455.jpg
I’ve been trying different configurations. The basic one is plugging the iPad while the bike is sitting still. It works. I see the battery % increase at a slow but steady rate. Okay, so last night I get the same results and I wonder, what happens if it’s plugged in all night. What’s the worse that could happen? Well, the iPad overheats, starts a fire, and central New York is engulfed in a conflagration. That’s not ideal. What I anticipate is the iPad will charge fully and the battery will stop pushing power to it. I will get on the bike, turn the key, and it will start right up. Didn’t happen. The iPad was showing 100% charge but the battery gave one sorrowful whine and stopped. Drained.

It was 6 a.m. I needed coffee. I was able to coast approximately one mile to Main Street. Smalley’s Garage is just across the street from Burger King with its coffee and internet connection. So I sat and typed out the previous journal entry until they opened. Smalley’s took me in immediately and put the battery on a charger. They thought it would take an hour so back I went to write and plot my course out of Watkins Glen.

During that time I decided to stay one more day. Otherwise I would be rushing my mapping machinations before I had to be out of the campground. Smalley’s charged me $5.00. Money well spent for a positive end to this experiment. Lesson learned, no overnight charging.

And that’s why I had so much time to write a long entry.

20130601-164003.jpg

Leave a Reply

